Hey, Brits, we don’t want to come!

What? You're Not Coming?

You mad, Queen?

If you missed the About page – I’m a Bulgarian student, 21 y.o. I’m mentioning this because I’ll talk about the continuing debate about Britain and its future in or out of the European Union. Also, after I realized that British politicians are as stupid populistic idiots as ours and British people are as stupid as Bulgarian, for believing them, I feel irritated for the obviously working machinations of the British media and politicians when they speak about Bulgaria and Romania.

The problem is that eurosceptic British parties are using the poorest members of the EU to validate their statements that the Union is bad for Britain. Suddenly the largest concern for the UK is the immigrants from the European Union. Still, it seems that nobody can use Google and find out that less than a third of the immigrants in the UK are from the EU. However, the populistic idiocy on this topic reached its peak not long ago when the leader of the UK Independence Party Nigel Farage scared the frak out of people speaking about 29 million Bulgarian and Romanian people who are “coming to Britain”. See the full video.

Basically, the things said about Bulgaria by this obvious eurosceptic are really close to the truth. We are the poorest member of EU, many of our people are extremely poor even for our understandings, we are struggling for our food, the mafia rules around. However, the average salary isn’t 200 Euro, it’s more like 400 Euro and living here is extremely cheap, so these 400 Euro for us are way more than any Brit can imagine. And if you believe in what Mr. Farage said you should imagine some Baghdad-like place, which is far from what Bulgaria is.

Of all the things said I most strongly disagree with the statement that 29 mln. people from Romania and Bulgaria will take their bags, leave their homes and families and will start living in England. The main reason is that the UK is hard and expensive country to even try to start proper life in and Bulgarians are aware of this important fact. I’m going to finish my bachelor’s next year and I want to study for master’s abroad. My childhood dream is to study in England but I won’t be able to do it. So I started looking for places where the politics towards immigrants are better, education is affordable or free and there are jobs for the foreign shit I’ll be when I arrive. I’m sure that many people in Bulgaria went through the same line of thoughts and changed their plans.

And if this is not enough, I have to confess from the name of many Bulgarians. Dear Brits, we don’t like you. You are ugly and fat, you are rude and you live in one of the countries with the worst weather in Europe. On the other hand you treat foreigners like shit and come to our country to drink cheap alcohol and vomit on the street. You’re disgusting and most of us don’t even want to imagine living on your island.

So, dear Brits, Mr. Farage, Queen of England, sleep calm. The amount of Bulgarian and Romanian immigrants most surely won’t change much after January 1st 2014. We won’t invade your precious island full of rain, Pakistanis and wonderful music. Still, you’re welcome to vomit on our seaside and have cheap whores, while hating us.

9 thoughts on “Hey, Brits, we don’t want to come!

  1. Being a British-lover myself, I can’t say I fully agree with everything, esp. the hate paragraph (the one before the last), but oh well – everybody’s entitled to their own opinion. Anyway, you requested critics, so here it comes:

    I’ll talk about the continuing debate about Britain -> I’m going to talk about the continuous debate, concerning/regarding

    Suddenly the largest concern for the UK is the immigrants -> UK’s largest concern are the immigrants

    many of our people are extremely poor even for our understandings -> even by our own standards

    And if you believe in what Mr. Farage said -> And if you believe what Mr. Farage said

    most strongly disagree with the statement -> the statement with which I disagree the most

    I want to study for master’s abroad. -> I want to complete my master’s degree abroad.

    My childhood dream is to study in England -> My childhood dream was to study in England

    I have to confess from the name of many Bulgarians. -> I have to confess on behalf of many Bulgarians:

    sleep calm – be calm/remain calm/rest assured

    You’re overusing the verbs speak and say. There is variety of synonyms you can use, depending on the context – claim, debate, discuss, state, etc. Further reading -> http://www.thefreedictionary.com/speak – check the Thesaurus section.
    Cheers!

    • Thanks for the comment and the critics, I appreciate them :).
      On the hate part – I’m overreacting here. Still, I see many people who share this kind of opinion when they think about Britain, so I guess it is true.

      • Well… Truth is not singular in this case. ^^
        – You are ugly and fat, you are rude – absolutely not true in my opinion. They are just not the type to be openly rude. There are, however other more subtle ways to be pretty nasty. Ugly and fat – well… ha-ha. ^^” Better keep my mouth shut.
        – and you live in one of the countries with the worst weather in Europe – weeell, it’s not so bad overall… Once you get used to it.
        – On the other hand you treat foreigners like shit – like shit – nah. Don’t think so. They would ignore us, look down on us, indeed, A foreigner would have a hard time finding job – also true. But! That is as long as you… well, I’m not sure how to put it, but as long as you *seem* foreign – in terms of behaviour, speaking, etc. See British have always been *frightened* of foreign, no matter what they claim. Hey, this is an isolated island we’re talking about, after all. But from what I’ve seen – you can always blend in, if you try. I know many people would argue that this means forsaking your own nationality and that this is wrong – oh, well, they may be correct, but it’s up to every individual, after all.
        – and come to our country to drink cheap alcohol and vomit on the street – ah, now that’s most certainly true. But is it just them? Are they to be blamed for that? Are *we* to criticize them? Yes, it’s unsightly, and all, but we’re not that different in that respect.
        – You’re disgusting and most of us don’t even want to imagine living on your island. – yes, overreaction, I can see that. 😀 But they do have good music. Great music, in fact. And lovely sightseeing sites. And plenty of other cool things. Yes, life there would be very hard. But if you’re able to make a living there, I’d say it would be totally worth it.
        My point? I’m not sure I have one. I’m practising my English as well, so don’t mind my rambling. 😀

    • Legolass, It is very good that you know English, however, this isn’t the authors mother’s language so it is pointless to give the author English lessons cuz he only wanted to express his feelings about the subject!

      • Hey, thanks for the support. I know Legolass really well and my goal with this blog is to receive feedback for my writing, grammar and all these stuff :). So, don’t worry.

      • Peace, man! 🙂 No offence intended, no bragging (well, maybe a little 😀 ) – just lending a helpful hand.

  2. Nice post. I might not agree with it 100% but the main feeling of it is my own as well. A tad harsh though, don’t you think and maybe a bit final. I find myself a bit at odds with you concerning some of the figures (strangely enough food is cheaper in the UK as compared to here. Couldn’t believe it too, till I saw it with my own eyes.)

    Now… I promised to be more than brutally honest… [probably some of the points are covered in previous posts – I admit, I just skimmed the comments. Sorry if I repeat something already mentioned]

    After I realized that British politicians are as stupid populistic idiots as ours => as + adjective (adverb) + as => are as stupid, populistic and idiotic as ours

    I feel irritated for the => I feel irritated by

    Suddenly the largest concern for the UK is the immigrants from the European Union => Suddenly the UK’s largest concern are the immigrants from the EU.

    many of our people are extremely poor even for our understandings => consider revising this, sounds a bit like a Bulgarianism; e.g. Many of our people are extremely poor even by our standards

    we are struggling for our food => we are struggling for food

    England => be careful how you use England. Many Bulgarians make that mistake. Substitute for Britain

    The main reason is that the UK is hard and expensive country to even try to start proper life in => the main reason is that the UK is a hard an expensive country to even try to start a proper life in

    So I started looking for places where the politics towards immigrants are better => politics is totally wrong for this sentence here. The word you are searching for is policy

    And if this is not enough, I have to confess from the name of many Bulgarians => again consider revising the whole thing. It feels like you translated it word for word from Bulgarian and it just sounds wrong. My suggestion here is something along the line of ‘As if all of this isn’t enough, let me tell you frankly on behalf of all Bulgarians… ‘

    sleep calm => sleep calmly (if you insist on using sleep) or even better – rest assured

    There are a couple of other things I personally would say differently [train of though 😉 ] but they still work.
    Hope this helps 🙂

  3. Hi, I’m English living in Bulgaria and agree with most of your generalisations about fat, stupid, rude Brits- that’s why I left the UK – but Farage is a bigot looking for political gain. Not all Brits think like him so please don’t start a hate campaign against those of us who are living here from choice. I hope Bulgarians will be able to go to Britain if they want to, but they will soon wish they were back home

Leave a comment.

